Sustainability External Advisory Council Members

Najah Ashry

Najah Ashry (Joined 2013) is Vice President for Saudi Initiatives at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST). She previously served as head of the female section at King Abdulaziz University in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, and has taught internationally and as visiting professor at a number of academic institutions.

Neil Hawkins 

Neil Hawkins (Chairman, 2014; ex-officio since 2007) is Corporate VP and Chief Sustainability Officer for The Dow Chemical Company. He serves on the National Academies Roundtable for Science and Technology for Sustainability, and on the Green Chemistry Science Advisory Panels of both California and Michigan. He is also a board member of The Keystone Center, Global Water Challenge and the World Environment Center.

Helio Mattar 

Helio Mattar (Joined 2013) is President of the Akatu Institute for Conscious Consumption, and founded the Ethos Institute for Social Responsibility. Formerly served as President of GE-Dako, Secretary of Production Development of Brazil’s Ministry of Development, Industry and Foreign Trade and CEO of Abrinq Foundation for the Rights of Children and Adolescents.

Stephen Polasky 

Stephen Polasky (Joined 2011) serves as Fesler-Lampert Professor of Ecological and Environmental Economics at the University of Minnesota. Previously served as senior staff economist for environment and resources for the President’s Council of Economic Advisors. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2010 and currently serves as a member of the Science Advisory Board for the EPA.

Isabel Studer 

Isabel Studer (Member 2015; Rejoined 2017) is Executive Director of the Mexico and North Central American Program of The Nature Conservancy. She founded and directed the Global Institute for Sustainability and was Academic Leader of Energy and Corporate Sustainability at EGADE Business School at Tec de Monterrey. Her most recent publication is Designing Integration: Regional Governance on Climate Change in North America (2013).

John Warner 

John Warner (Joined 2014) is President and Chief Technology Officer of Warner Babcock Institute for Green Chemistry, and President, The Beyond Benign Foundation.  John is the recipient of the 2014 Perkin Medal, a Fellow of the American Chemical Society, and co-author of Green Chemistry:  Theory and Practice.

Anders Wijkman 

Anders Wijkman (Joined 2013) is co-President of Club of Rome and a Councilor of the World Future Council. Anders is a former Member of the European Parliament, an NGO leader, and co-author of the 2012 book Bankrupting Nature: Denying Our Planetary Boundaries.

Changhua Wu 

Changhua Wu (Joined 2016) is the China Director of TIR Consulting (third industrial revolution). In her newly appointed role, she will work closely with Jeremy Rifkin to advance his vision aligned with China’s 13th Five-Year Plan – clean energy transition, internet plus China and ecological civilization. Changhua has been an environment and development policy analyst for 20 years.

Terry Yosie 

Terry F. Yosie (Joined 2018) is the former President & CEO of the World Environment Center. He previously served as a senior official at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, American Chemistry Council, American Petroleum Institute and was a member of the National Academies’ Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology and numerous other Academy panels. He is a member of the Sustainability Advisory Council of Ingersoll Rand and author of over 80 professional publications.